Weekly Giveaway #1

So, I have all this crap left over from my first year of law school.  And I mean a lot of crap.  When I decided to go to law school and told all of my lawyer friends they handed over a bunch of study aids for my first year.  And now I no longer need them. Yeah, I could keep them for the bar but as I already have two sets of J’s BAR/BRI books I can see that anything more than those would just overwhelm me even more. And while I could sell some of these books back on Amazon, I’d rather spread the love and give them good homes in the hopes that more law students will do the same.

So…

I’m giving it all away on this blog.

Here are the rules so far:*

  • Leave a comment to enter,
  • You may not win two weeks in a row,
  • If you have a blog I’d love a shout-out to your readers so that more rising 1Ls can enter,
  • I’d appreciate it if only rising 1Ls would enter,
  • On Sundays I’ll announce the winner, who will have to e-mail me an address to ship the book to.**

For all 2Ls, 3Ls, and graduates I’d also appreciate some shout-outs so that a variety of peeps can claim this crap and free some space on bulging bookshelf.

This week’s giveaway is a book called, “Learning Legal Reasoning: Briefing, Analysis and Theory”***

I used this book to learn about briefing a case.  It does a great job teaching you about what to look for when reading a case.  It also provides some exercises.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Good Luck!

*I reserve the right to change the rules in the future.

**All entries will be thrown in a bag with J drawing a name on Sunday.

*** Amazon link

19 Responses

  1. Kudos! This is a really good idea. I was wondering if you could take a look at my last post and give me some feedback. It would really be helpful to get some input from someone who has survived. Thanks.

  2. Thanks Lauren! And I posted some feedback for you! 🙂

  3. No thank you! And just a heads up you have your own post on my blog. I did a Marion Barry rant and figured you wouldn’t want your giveaway to be mentioned after that. Haha.

  4. This is my entry! What a great idea! I’ll try working you into a shout-out on my blawg. Cheers!

  5. […] Shout-out to Rising 1L’s A woman in lawschool is giving away some books from her 1L library– check it out! […]

  6. This is a great idea. I also have a law school themed blog (well..not SO much about law school yet since I don’t start my first year until the end of August) I need all the help I can get! I’ve posted the link to your site on my blog, and I hope to one day be able to pass on some helpful books to other terrified 1L’s.

  7. Great idea x 1 more!

  8. This is my entry and I will definitely pass it on! Thanks Kel!

  9. […] I just saw that a woman in law school is having a weekly giveaway for rising 1Ls.  Check it out.  This week’s giveaway is this book. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  10. Generous idea. This isn’t an entry in this contest, but it is a commendation! I linked up on my latest post.

    This is also a great way to discover incoming 1L blawgs 😉

  11. Here is my entry!!! Awesome idea Kel.

  12. This is a great idea. Thanks for your generosity!! Your shoutout is already on my blog!

  13. What a great way to network us! You will most definitely receive a generous shout out on my next entry Lauren!

  14. And here’s my entry. I just discovered your blog and I love it!

  15. This is fantastic! Just found your blog through IDWSJ. Not entering this week, but I’ll start reading your blog and add you to the blogroll. Congrats on surviving year one, btw. You’re one semester away from being halfway done! [I’m THAT kid…the delusionally optimistic one. Cheers.]

  16. Oh, fabulous! Am I too late? If so, I’ll be sure to check back earlier in the week next time. Great idea, and thank you!!

  17. Awesome idea! I will be sure to give this blog a shout out! Thanks 🙂

  18. Really cool that you’re doing this. I read about it from “Michelle’s Law School Blog” on about.com. This is my first visit here, but I will be sure to return!

  19. Cool idea!! I’ve been on pre-law school vacation for the last two weeks, but I’ll be sure to add you to my blogroll. 🙂

Leave a Reply

