Law Review: A Little Late

Everyone who attempted to “write-on” to law review received an e-mail that invitations would be extended the next evening.  That evening came and went for me and I was sad, very sad.  I thought my casenote was well thought out and I knew that my citations weren’t great but we were never taught how to cite using Bluebook.  I called my dear friend Em and asked her if she had heard anything, she had.  She had made not THE journal, but the other one our school has.  I was even more sad.  So I threw a fit and cried.  Yep, you read that correctly, I threw a fit!

Those who went before us were not lying when they said that law school is one tough cookie.  I have never been in such a competitive environment before, one that constantly has you comparing yourself against others without even realizing it.  Em tried to be a good friend, I knew she was unhappy that I wasn’t extended an invite but I still wanted to throw my fit.

So here is my fit:  learning that hard work sometimes doesn’t pay off is a bitch.  Learning that hard work sometimes doesn’t pay off is not an excuse to stop working hard, which is also a bitch in itself.  Learning to let all of this go in such a competitive place is probably the hardest.

But then…I got a phone call inviting me to join the second journal!  AND I WAS ESTATIC!  Although it wasn’t THE journal I wanted it was a journal.  The best part is that I’ll be working with Em and among other good friends.  While the second journal is not particularly of interest to me topic-wise I’ll be doing the same exact work that those who made THE journal will learn and do, and that cheers me up.  🙂

4 Responses

  1. CONGRATS!!!
    Law Review is one of those things that I know I’m “supposed” to care about, but I just really really don’t 🙂 I’m not even wasting my time with the write-on next month, because I know I don’t want to do it. I’m President of a student org. next year, have 5 classes…just too much. But, I will say, now that I’m work-study for one of our journals I love it. I do all the work that a student editor would do on law review (cite checking, Bluebooking, all that jazz), but for a journal that doesn’t even HAVE a student staff like the Law Review does. And it’s dear to my heart, topic wise. And they pay me money 🙂
    See how I had to take a moment to justify to myself that I have a great job and “I don’t need no stinkin’ law review!”?

    Isn’t it funny how it always seems that they tell you one date, get your hopes all up, then drag it out? Oh law school…

    Congrats again!! 😀

    • Thanks! I wanted the citation experience. If I could have the same opportunity and get paid for it even better! I think you’re being smart about your decision. In the end employers are looking for learned skills, and bluebooking is a learned skill regardless of where it’s received.

  2. Hey,

    Prospective law student here, carousing the blogs of law students to get a feel for law school (I like your posts, though my internship has prevented me from reading more of them). I figure reading the blogs is much better than reading the message boards. Anways, wanted to extend my congrats. Should you ever want to remember the faint memory that was life-before-law-school, you can read up on my blog about my app cycle and beyond when I get started this year.

    Congrats again.

Leave a Reply

