Mentoring

I will soon meet my mentee and I have no clue what to say.  Maybe she doesn’t even want a mentor and is just doing it to please me?  What the eff do I know about this whole law school experience?!

So…

I remember meeting my mentor.  He was a douche.  He and I talked for an hour and I never saw him after that.  Besides, I “knew” everything there was to “know” about law school at that point, right?  I’m sure some of you out there have read, and read some more on how this whole law school thing goes.  But you don’t really understand it until you live and breath it everyday for at least three months.   All I can tell her is to read, try briefing, work on outlining, ask for help, take breaks when they’re needed and have someone to vent to.

Hopefully she’ll be nice. 🙂

3 Responses

  1. heh. I’m meeting mine next week and I have the same reaction!

  2. I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to do that. I met my mentor once, he’s a nice enough guy and b/c we have so many mutual friends we’re social, but we never did the mentor/mentee thing after the first visit. He did email me outlines for 3 of my classes, which was nice 🙂

  3. i just got in touch with my mentee this week and she seems really cute and nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

