Being Realistic

So far my law school experience has taught me a lot about being realistic.  I have several “Seriously Kel?, you think you can do all of that?” moments per day.  Yesterday I had a big one.  This semester I planned on taking six classes plus journal work.  Well, that dream was crushed due to a limit on credits a law student can take in one semester so then I was left with five classes.  Today I’m down to four and I think four will be the magic number this semester.

I think law students forget to “be real.”  It is so damn easy to get caught up in the rat race that we forget what we’re doing.  Take OCI for example (on-campus interviews).  I did not go to law school because I aspired to work for a large-ass firm, and therefore it would make no sense for me to participate in OCI.  I’ve got to stay true to myself you know. I also have no interest in bankruptcy and so I will not take that class eventhough everyone else is doing it.  Well, I ain’t everybody else!  Duh!

So there.  Be real, it may seem like common practice but we fail to use it at times.

5 Responses

  1. I don’t practice bankruptcy either. However, it is the most useful class I took in law school. It doesn’t matter what area of law that you practice (just about), bankruptcy probably touches it in some way. It is the one class that I recommend everyone to take in law school.

    Just my $.02

  2. Amen sister! I often had to stop and remind myself along the way that just cause everyone else was doing something doesn’t mean I have to do it too. I was lucky I remembered that mantra before it was too late to drop Secured Transactions 3rd year 🙂

  3. I think law students sometimes think in a one-size-fits-all style. According to all of my friends, I have the worst schedule ever. I love it.

    When it comes to being realistic, I think you have to keep yourself in mind first. Then everyone else.

  4. Yeah, I’ve got a friend who made it pretty clear that she was public-interest oriented during 1L, so you can imagine my surprise to hear that she was doing OCI and taking tax and anti-trust courses.

  5. I can totally identify. I recently posted the same thing myself. I hate that I don’t have a job yet (graduated in May) but even if I had done OCI, I would be not only miserable for not sticking with what I like, but I would also be deferred and equally uncertain.

    Stick to your dreams!

Leave a Reply

