A Dose of Normalcy

My class was cancelled today so I spent the entire day reading FOR PLEASURE!  I meant to read more over the summer but could never get into it.  Maybe I just needed all summer to unwind?

The book I read was “The Zookeeper’s Wife” by Diane Ackerman.  It’s the story of Jan and Antonia Zabinski’s efforts to save their zoo in Warsaw and how during WWII they also used the zoo to save over three hundred people from the Nazis.  Ackerman uses Antonia’s diary entries along with historical snipits to piece together a wonderfully different history of Warsaw, the Warsaw Ghetto and WWII.  I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading WWII history or Holocaust resistance history.  It’s a fast read too, under 350 pages, and took me a day to finish.

After a long first week this dose of normalcy is exactly what I needed.  Now it’s back to 200 pages of reading and bluebooking!

3 Responses

  1. Good for you! It is so important (IMO) to try to make time for things that you love, that make you the person you are, in order to not lose yourself in law school.

  2. Fun reading? Oh yeah, I remember what that was.

  3. Oh that sounds fantastic!! I miss my fiction reading. *sigh* Maybe one day…

Leave a Reply

