Mock Trial Jitters

I don’t know why I’m nervous.  Oh wait!  That’s right!  I haven’t written my opening statement and the mock trial is tomorrow!  Duh!

In many ways this experience seems like acting.  Memorize this, make sure you say that, pause strategically here, accentuate these phrases, etc.  We’ve put many hours into this and will have many more for the next competition.  So far, my team works well together.  I think it’s because we don’t get caught up on little things and are extremely flexible people.  While our trial tomorrow is only an hour and a half our next one will be three hours, with visuals and more formalized objections.

Writing the opening statement has just been strange for me.  So I went searching online for some tips and found, oddly enough, that our very own Evan Schaeffer had some on his Trial Practice Tips Weblog.  Some of you may be familiar with his weekly law school roundup on The Legal Underground.  🙂  Strange how small the internet seems sometimes.

The one thing I will say is that mock trial is not as intimidating as my appellate oral argument was my first year.  So if you have nightmare about appellate arguments don’t put mock trial in the same boat–it’s different.

So I’m off to write an opening statement that hopefully is moving enough to not suck.

Good night.

2 Responses

  1. That’s so funny, because I find the idea of mock trial much more intimidating than appellate arguments! anyway, good luck!

  2. Good luck 🙂 It sounds like you’re having a great experience with this.

Leave a Reply

