Mock Trial Results

So, my little team went a total of four rounds and ended up winning our Mock Trial Competition!

I was so nervous that I kept joking that I was going to pee my pants.  I haven’t had evidence or trial advocacy so my objection knowledge was ridiculously weak.   My opening statement got better each time as I learned to speak to the judge and not to my notes.  And my direct examination of my witness was smoother as well.

The hardest part for me was listening for areas where I could object and then explain my reasoning behind objecting.  I also had problems when my questions were being objected to because I didn’t exactly know how to respond.

I know I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again.  I chose to do mock trial because I was scared of it.  Law school is about learning and I figured I’d rather learn about trial skills through mock trial than wait until after I graduate and have no clue what I’m doing.  I recommend it to everyone.  I was a lot of fun and after winning I can say that my confidence has definitely been boosted.

3 Responses

  1. Congratulations! That’s awesome!

  2. Congratulations! I am so happy to hear your team did well. Sounds way more useful than journal work.

Leave a Reply

