You’re hot, then you’re cold…

Last week I was at an attorney event  where the coordinator asked if I new a 1L who was her cousin.  (Oddly enough it was the same 1L that I ranted about not too long ago.)  I said no and she proceeded to tell me that this 1L has wanted to quit law school more than once already.  This got me thinking.  I also wanted to quit law school several times last year.  I just didn’t get it.  I didn’t feel like I was doing anything lawyerly.  I hated the classes.  I hated how much work I had on my plate.  I hated the lack of conversation.  I hated that everyone seemed to know what they wanted to do. I actually re-wrote the Katy Perry song “Hot and Cold” to fit law school!  But this year I can honestly say that I haven’t felt that way.  Even though I’m bogged down with work I’m beginning to see myself as a lawyer and it’s a good feeling.